Mystery Monday

I chose the Mystery Monday blogging prompt for today because I’ve spent quite a bit of time over the last few weeks trying to find William Smith’s Confederate military records.  But first, the facts:

  • Born:  About 1822 in Montgomery County
  • Died:  after 1880
  • Married:  Sarah Strother
  • He’s my 3rd great-grandfather via:
    • his son, Jones Monroe Smith
    • his son, Joseph Jones Smith
    • his son
    • his daughter, Katherine Jean Smith

According to my cousin Helen Smith Crepps in the Montgomery County Heritage Book, Volume  I, he 

enlisted in CA at Brunswick on August 29, 1863.  he served in the 3rd Co G 40th regiment state troops, stationed at bald head island, near fort fisher, where his troop aided blockade runners and made soap and other supplies for the confederate army

According to my papa Nelson,

he enlisted late, about time war was over, was sent to Bald Head Island to make soap to clean things up, like dysentery and such.  At some point the Union surrounded them, his captain said every man for himself and he took off through the swamp barefoot.  He walked all the way home, barefoot, and they got after him saying he would be considered a deserter so he went back.  By the time he got back, the war was pretty much over.

Helen says that in October 1864, his troop was sent to Fort Fischer and told to escape if possible.

My inexperience with confederate records has really put me at a disadvantage.  I finally found a record of a William Smith who did indeed enlist in August of 1863.  This William was on roll until October 1864.  But, there’s nothing to tie him to my William.

At points like this, I really wonder what I’m missing.

Sources:

2 thoughts on “Mystery Monday

Leave a Reply

