Four Ancestors Ago–Boston Miller Robertson (52 Ancestors Week 2)

Boston Miller Roberston has turned out to be a much bigger puzzle than I had anticipated.  I can’t find any information on him regarding his Civil War activities beyond the Application for Headstone.  Evidently, when his son, Roy, applied for the headstone, there was quite a bit of a problem finding him!  The application is a mess.  The original application was Boston Miller and the updated one was for B.M. which is what is on his headstone.  I contacted a fellow genealogist and Civil War buff for some help with Boston as I can’t find anything.  He had helped me find William Allen so I was very hopeful.  He couldn’t find ANYthing on Boston!  His exact statement was,

“How his family got him a CSA marker, I don’t know.”

He did find in the Pulaski Heritage Book that Boston was a nickname for Sebastion.  This was indeed news to me.  I hope to find out the writer came upon this tidbit of information.  I do find Boston on several censuses and each time he’s Boston or Boss, so I’m not inclined to put much merit into it thus far.

According to the headstone application, he served as a Private in Company K of the 23rd Virginia Infantry but that’s as far as I can get.  Oh, how I wish these slips of paper would tell all their handlers knew!

Boston is my husband’s 2nd great-grandfather.

  • Sources:
    • Martha Thomas Robertson
    • Robertson, Boston Miller 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920 US Federal Census
    • Robertson, Boston Miller, “US Headstone Application”
    • “Robertson/Robinson.”  Grose, S.  Pulaski County Heritage, 2003
2 thoughts on “Four Ancestors Ago–Boston Miller Robertson (52 Ancestors Week 2)

  1. Have you contacted the Sons of Confederate Veterans Camp in the area where Boston is buried? They may have more information on the unit he served with and that could hopefully help you find out more about his service. I’m trying to get an SCV marker removed or corrected & it looks like it might take an act of congress to get anything done.

    Like

    • I have not. I only got this far with Boston last week. Honestly, I know very little about the military aspect of this and didn’t realize I could do that! Thanks for the tip, that will be added to the list for next week and my next trip to the area.

      Like

Leave a Reply

