Five Ancestors Ago–William Allen (52 Ancestors #5)

I found a challenge yesterday and thought it would be a perfect way to really get this blog going.  I’m going to go back (cheat) and add the other two for previous weeks and I’ll catch up the other two posts sometime later.  In August of 1862, William Allen headed to war.  On August 6th, his will was recorded in Stanly County.

This is my last will that my wife Nancy shall after my death have all my possessions; all that is mine shall be hers to raise my children with.  This is my last will and testament.

When I came across the will I was surprised at how short it was, but in a way, it goes right along with how the last few months of his life went.  Two days later, on August 8th, he enlisted in Stanly County.

He traveled all the way to Northhampton County, just over 200 miles, then headed towards Fredrickburg, Virginia.  Family legends holds that,

he made his will and left in August, laid out in the fields in December or January in the snow, caught pneumonia, and was dead by February.

It seems there were a lot of deaths from disease more so than actual war wounds.

According to his records, he has black eyes, dark hair, and a dark complexion and was 6’1 1/2″.   His records  also say he died on February 4, but someone whom I corresponded with, the person actually provided me with these records, wonders if that’s wrong because of another date that’s out there in March.

This I don’t know.  What I do know is that in May 1863, his father, Joseph Allen, took his will to open court for probate and he left behind his wife, Nancy McSwain Allen, and two small children, Sarah and David.  I haven’t found what happened to Sarah yet, but Nancy and David were never apart.  She lived with him until her death.

William is my third great grandfather.

One thought on “Five Ancestors Ago–William Allen (52 Ancestors #5)

  1. Pingback: 52 Ancestors Challenge: Week 5 Recap | No Story Too Small

Leave a Reply

